Site links

News Archive



SAAF Soccer Championships: October 2008

By Capt J. van Schalkwyk, Corp Com Officer, AFB YPLT.

Air Force Base Ysterplaat is once again the host for the annual SAAF Soccer Championships, being held at the Goodwood Rugby Club (13 to 17 October 2008). A total of 18 teams with 20 members each entered the championship with enthusiasm and a will to return to their home units crowned as the SAAF Soccer Champions of 2008.

The opening ceremony was officiated by Brig Gen Y. Mavumbe-Malaphi on Monday 13 October 2008. The event was also honored with a C47-TP Dakota fly-past and beautiful music provided by the SA Army Band which is based in Cape Town. A number of identified learners from Secondary Schools in Langa and Guguletu in Cape Town were invited to attend the opening ceremony. Upon completion of the first match they commenced with a guided visit to AFB Ysterplaat, creating awareness of the role and functions of the base as well as the Air Force within the broader South Africa.

With a number of battles throughout the week it was apparent that only the best would proceed to the finals. The teams who will battle it out in the finals are as follows:

Male: AFB Bloemspruit vs 68 Air School.
Female: AFB Ysterplaat vs AFB Waterkloof.

The AFB Ysterplaat female team has not conceded one goal yet and is determined to be crowned the SAAF Female Soccer Champions of 2008. The 68 Air School male team obtained a second place in 2007, and would surely give it their all to ensure they become the number one male soccer team in the SAAF. AFB Waterkloof male soccer team was victorious in 2007 and will have the daunting task to hand over the floating trophy to the winning team, if they loose!

Print Version    Top